Works and Infrasctructure Departnment

The Works and Infrastructure Department within the Ministry for Transport,Infrastructure and Capital Projects was established to provide a comprehensive quality service to Government in the design and implementation of public infrastructural works and projects. Another principal aim is to present a comprehensive range of quality services, through its directorates and units, in an efficient manner and with the required return of value for money. 
The Works and Infrastructure Department (previously known as the Works Division) falls within the remit of the Ministry for Transport,Infrastructure and Capital Projects (MTIP) and was set up in 1992.  Over the years it has undergone various changes in the number of Departments that fall under its responsibility.  

The Works and Infrasrtucture Department comprises of the following units:

Project Design and Engineering Directorate:
The Project Design & Engineering Directorate (previously known as the Building and Engineering Department) maintained its role as the principal design arm of the Works and Infrastructure Department for projects originating from the Ministry for Transport and Infrastructure and for projects originating from other Ministries and Departments.
Units falling under this Directorate:

·         Secretariat (administrative staff)

·         Architectural & Structural Design Unit (architects)

·         Drawing Office (draughtsmen)

·         Electrical & Mechanical Services Section (engineers)

·         Quantity Surveying Section (quantity surveyors)

·         Land Survey Unit (land surveyors)  




Level 3, Project House,
Triq Francesco Buonamici,
Floriana FRN 1700, Malta

Telephone Number: (356) 2292 7598

Director (Project Design and Engineering)
Perit Nadia Gatt Curmi


Projects Implementation Directorate:

The Projects Implementation Directorate implements the projects undertaken by the Works and Infrastructure Department and also caters for the maintenance of government property, buildings and infrastructure.
Maintenance of the infrastructure is limited to those areas that do not fall under the responsibility of other entities such as Transport Malta and the Local Councils.
The Directorate also offers its assistance to carry out various works all over the island in collaboration with the respective Local Councils.
Units under Projects Implementation Directorate responsibility:
• Rehabilitation Projects Office
• Lija Workshop
• Tar-Robba Quarry
• Waterproofing Section
At present this Directorate has also under its responsibility seven (7) Zone Offices that will eventually be transformed into four (4) Regions.

Postal Address: Level 2, Project House, Triq Francesco Buonamici,
Floriana FRN 1700, Malta
Telephone Number: (356) 2292 7555
Director (Projects Implementation) is Perit Paul Cini B.E. & A. (Hons), A. & C.E.


Manufacturing and Services Directorate:

​The Manufacturing and Services Directorate provides specific manufacturing and service functions, which are efficient and demonstrate the required return on investment, to all areas of Government.
The Manufacturing & Services Directorate is made up of the following sections:
• Metal Trades Section;
• Carpentry Section;
• Plumbing Section;
• Electrical Section;
• Lifts Section;
• Air conditioning Section;
• Vehicles & Plant Section;
• Administration Section.
Apart from these sections, the Directorate has one Co-Operative within its fold, namely:
• The Traffic Signs Co-Operative (KOPTASIN)
This co-operative offers all types of services related with road and traffic signs. It is made up of skilled employees in their trade, which is a guarantee for a high quality and genuine service.


Marsa Garage, Troubridge Street, Albert Town,
Marsa MRS 1112, Malta
Telephone Number: (356) 22921700
Fax Number: (356) 21237382
Director (Manufacturing and Services) is Mr Emanuel Bezzina


Marine and Storm Water Unit

The Marine and Storm Water Unit carries out interventions and provides technical assistance in the construction and repair of public coastal structures and storm water relief systems.  
• Marine Section
• Storm Water Section


Level 2, Project House, Triq Francesco Buonamici,
Floriana FRN 1700, Malta

Legal Office

The Legal Office manages the Legal Affairs of the Works and Infrastructure Department, providing consultancy services and legal assistance to the Department in court and arbitration proceedings.


Level 2, Project House, Triq Francesco Buonamici,
Floriana FRN 1700, Malta.
Telephone Number: (356) 2292 7386
Fax Number: (356) 21250159
Head, Legal Office is Dr.Mark Sammut LL.D.

Project Monitoring Unit

The Project Monitoring Unit (PMU) is a section within the Office of the Permanent Secretary, formalised by a Cabinet decision dated April 2013 subsequently consolidated by a report drawn by the Management Efficiency Unit (MEU) within the Office of the Prime Minister dated February 2014.

The PMU is made up of a multi-disciplinary group of project managers, engineers, EU affairs specialists, and other professionals, charged with monitoring Ministry related projects from cradle to grave. Projects monitored by the PMU include projects co-financed by the EU, as well as projects funded by the national budget.

Main Responsibilities
 i. Collaborating in and pursuing the development of new projects
 ii. Monitoring of projects carried out by Ministry departments and entities
 iii. Planning and monitoring of the management and maintenance of completed projects.

While the PMU forms the nucleus of the Ministry project monitoring function, the PMU also provides assistance for solving issues that arise during the life cycle of particular projects. Where the need arises an ad hoc Project Monitoring Committee (PMC) is set up, consisting of members of the PMU, members of the project management team of the project itself, professionals from Ministry departments and entities, as well as experts from outside the Ministry, who are charged to apply their expertise to develop solutions for these issues.

Apart from attending to tasks assigned by the Permanent Secretary from time to time, the PMU is entrusted with the management of particular project and the coordination of inter-ministry project ventures.


Block A,
Triq Francesco Buonamici,
Telephone Numbers: (356) 22927432 / (356) 79008921
Ing. Joseph Scicluna

Quantity Surveying Unit

The Quantity Surveying provides technical assistance in the Pre Contract and Post Contract for various projects.


Level 1, Project House, Triq Francesco Buonamici,
Floriana FRN 1700, Malta
Telephone Number: (356) 2292 7405
Head, Quantity Surveying Unit is
Mr. Joseph Grech   Dip. Mgt. (Melit)  Executive MBA (Melit)

​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​