Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) for Transport

graph_coverpage_highres.pngConnecting Europe Facility 2.0 (CEF 2.0) 

The general objectives of the CEF 2.0 are to build, develop, modernise, and complete the trans-European networks in the transport, energy, and digital sectors. It also facilitates cross-border cooperation in the field of renewable energy, considering the long-term decarbonisation commitments and the goals of increasing European competitiveness. The programme facilitates synergies among the transport, energy, and digital sectors. The adopted regulation (EU) 2021/1153 on CEF 2.0 may be accessed here.​


EU Budget
The total EU-wide CEF budget for the period starting from 1st January 2021 to 31st December 2027 is €33,710,000,000 (in current prices). This includes in part the transport sector:

Transport: €25,807,000,000 (incl. €11,286,000,000 for cohesion countries)​The Connecting Europe Facility for Transport is a funding instrument that supports projects aimed at building new transport infrastructure in Europe or rehabilitating and upgrading the existing ones. The specific objectives of the CEF in the transport sector are (a) to contribute to the development of projects of common interest relating to efficient, interconnected, and multimodal networks and infrastructure for smart, interoperable, sustainable, inclusive, accessible, safe, and secure mobility in accordance with the objectives of Regulation (EU) No 1315/2013 (b) to adapt parts of the TEN-T for the dual use of the transport infrastructure with a view to improving  both civilian and military mobility.​ Further information on the Connecting Europe Facility - Transport may be found on the CINEA website.


The CEF 2.0 programme shall be managed by the European Climate, Infrastructure and Environment Executive Agency (CINEA), which was established on 1st April 2021. For further information about CINEA you may access this link

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​CEF Transport call for proposals

2022 CEF Transport call for proposals

The 2022 CEF Transport call for proposals under CEF has been opened on 13 September 2022 with a deadline on 18 January 2023 5:00pm and is available here​. The call makes 5.12 billion euros available for projects targeting new upgraded and improved European transport infrastructure. Projects funded under this call shall help to increase the sustainability of the transport network, putting the EU on track to meet the European Green Deal objective of cutting transport emissions by 90% by 2050. The indicative total budget of the call is available to support infrastructure projects on the Core and Comprehensive TEN-T networks in the following areas: 

      - inland waterways, maritime and inland ports
      - road safety, multimodal logistics platforms and passenger hubs
      - smart and interoperable applications for transport
      - infrastructure resilience, safe and secure mobility, 

An information day for this call will take place online on 5 October 2022 at 2:30pm. Those interested are kindly requested to book by not later than 3 October 2022 5:00pm. To attend please register from here​. The info sessions will cover the priorities, main aspects, evaluation, award process, and tips on how to prepare and submit a successful proposal. If interested to apply for a proposal please click here​. Other available calls could be found here.​ All dates and time under this call are based on Brussels-Malta time. 

2021 CEF Transport call for proposals

On 16 September 2021, CINEA launched a call for proposals under the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) for Transport funding instrument, which makes €7 billion available for projects aiming to build, upgrade and improve European transport infrastructure. These include the General envelope, Cohesion envelope, Military Mobility and Alternative Fuels Infrastructure Facility (AFIF). The call’s deadline was on 19 January 2022.

Submission results
Following the admissibility and eligibility stages, the proposals’ evaluation and selection process will take place between February and June 2022 for the classic calls, and between February and April-May 2022 for the 1st cut-off date of the AFIF calls. Please access this link to CINEA’s news article on the calls’ submission figures. ​


Selection Results


On response to calls for proposals issued under the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) Transport in September 2021, 135 transport infrastructure projects selected under CEF Transport, with an EU-wide budget of 5,400,000,000 euros. The projects were selected from amongst the 399 submitted proposals under CEF.

The funding will support projects across all EU MSs along the Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T). The EC is committed to “improve the missing infrastructure links, make transport more sustainable and efficient, increase safety and interoperability, as well as create jobs. These challenging times have reinforced the importance of our EU transport sector and of having a seamless, well connected infrastructure network.” 

Projects include: 

  • The creation of secure and safe parking infrastructure for lorries;
  • Upgrades of basic port infrastructure, incl. onshore power supply for docked ships;
  • Improved cross-border inland waterway connections and
  • Series of pilot Digital European Sky Demonstrators for green aviation and urban air mobility. 
  • For further information could be found by clicking this link.


Calls for proposal: Alternative Fuels Infrastructure Facility 

  • A rolling call with multiple cut off dates has been launched on 16th September 2021. The objective is to support the deployment of Alternative Fuel supply infrastructure, contributing to decarbonising transport along the TEN-T network. The following Actions will be supported
  • Actions supporting the roll-out of electricity fast-charging infrastructure of a minimum power output of 150kW, including electricity grid connexion, on the TEN-T road network
  • Actions supporting LNG bunkering for TEN-T maritime and inland ports 
  • Actions supporting the roll-out of hydrogen refuelling infrastructure on the TEN-T road network and in urban nodes, with priority to long haul heavy-duty transport and public transport
  • Actions supporting the roll-out of hydrogen refuelling and electricity recharging infrastructure dedicated to and heavy-duty vehicles 
  • Actions supporting the deployment of alternative fuels for TEN-T maritime ports, inland waterways and inland ports, and airports

A virtual information day was held on 14th October 2021. You may access the recorded session by clicking here. To access the calls below please access the link here. All cut-off dates close at 5:00 pm Malta time. The cut-off dates are:
- Third cut-off date: 10th November 2022
- Fourth cut-off date: 13th April 2023
- Fifth and last cut-off date: 19th September 2023

For further in​formation please consult the AFIF Factsheet​

Member State’s Approval
It is to be noted that all project submissions require the Member State’s approval. In the case of Malta, the signatory is the Permanent Secretary for the Ministry for Transport, Infrastructure and Capital Projects (MTIP). The full and complete application form is to be submitted to MTIP by no later than 3 weeks prior to the deadline of submission of the project by CINEA. MTIP may request further clarifications and/or request meetings with the project’s applicant. 

 NB: MTIP may not be in position to provide Member State’s approval if the application form is not fully provided and completed on time.